Lisandro Martinez or Raphael Varane will become the fifth United player to win the World Cup

Lisandro Martinez or Raphael Varane will become the fifth Manchester United player to lift the lucrative World Cup trophy.

Take a look at the previous winners who became champions whilst playing for the Reds.

1. Bobby Charlton

An icon forever etched into the history of the Red Devils. The club legend survived the Munich air disaster and went on to make history with United; with over 750 appearances, two First Division titles and a European Cup.

He made over 100 England appearances and was part of the team that won England’s only World Cup in 1966. The Three Lions defeated Germany 4-2 in the final, and Bobby’s brother Jack was also in the squad.

2. Nobby Stiles

The Manchester-born midfielder spent 11 years at his boyhood club after being granted the opportunity by Sir Matt Busby. He won two league titles, the European Cup and an FA Cup.

He was alongside fellow Red Charlton when representing England in the final, operating in the defensive midfield.

3. John Connelly

Connelly stayed in his birthplace of Lancashire throughout his career, playing for Bury, Blackburn Rovers, United and Burnley. He won the league with the Reds and Burnley.

The Englishman featured just once under Alf Ramsey in England’s successful campaign and received his winner’s medal in 2009.

4. Paul Pogba

The Frenchman came through the academy ranks at Carrington to eventually feature in the first team, before departing to Italian giants Juventus in 2012. After four years, he returned to United and made 233 appearances in red, lifting the Europa League and League Cup in that time. Pogba completed a free transfer back to the Serie A side last summer after six years at Old Trafford.

He became a world champion with Les Bleus in 2018, netting France’s third goal in the final against Croatia. Pogba was ruled out of this year’s tournament due to an injury.

Who next?

The golden opportunity to taste victory on the world’s biggest stage is now in the hands of Argentina and France. Both Martinez and Varane have been invaluable to the Reds this season so far and have formed an outstanding centre-back partnership under Erik ten Hag, so it will bring great pride to supporters to see the Reds reach the final stage.

14 United players travelled to Qatar and only those two remain. The final is on Sunday, December 18 at 3pm – best of luck to both Reds.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every month.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous post France [1] – 0 Morocco – Théo Hernandez Goal
Next post Man Utd took a shortcut in the 120 million deal
%d bloggers like this: